I am going to enjoy life after 50 if it kills me!

So this is what is making me crazy.  Making me doubt myself.  Driving me to tears and migraine.

I DON’T know how to live on $1500 a month.  That’s gross, by the way, in more ways than one.  As best I can tell, I am going to be working for just over minimum wage, no matter what I do.  At least until and if I can get a teaching job, which may not be for quite some time.

At various points throughout the day today, the idea of living on so little has been intimidating, impossible, depressing, and just plain terrifying.  It’s that black hole thing I wrote about yesterday.  It can suck me in like a vacuum cleaner hose.  And I definitely have been feeling the pull of the vacuum cleaner today.

Fortunately, God puts people in front of me (in my face, to be precise) who bring me the perspective I so sorely lack.  Take Linda.  As I sadly followed her around the grocery store today looking like the most pitiful thing on two legs, she reminded me of how very rich I am.  People in other parts of the world would give anything to just have a roof over their heads and food in their stomachs.  We are SOOO rich in this country, even when we are “poor” by American standards.  We have no idea what it means to truly be impoverished.  Linda has a way of being excruciatingly honest with me, which is why I ask her opinion and her advise.  She has also been in much worse predicaments than I, so she knows whereof she speaks.

So, can I get by on $1500 a month?  People do it here in the good old United States all the time.  I think it will take some creative budgeting and relying on people to do for me (which is not how I was raised and I hate it).  Is it the way I want to spend the rest of my life?  No.  But then again (perspective, please?) nobody said it would be the rest of my life.

It’s just for now.

Comments on: "How to Live on $1500 a Month" (4)

  1. Perfect!

    Accepting help from someone is sometimes the greatest gift you can give to THEM! Thank you!!

    LOVE YOU!!!

  2. I was just thinking about exactly this last night! I was thinking that people survive on minimum wage all the time. How, you may ask? Who the heck knows! I bet they don’t even know how they do it, because more often than not, it just sort of works out (that’s called God, by the way). And yes, it will involve relying on your family at times (which is what they’re there for and THEY DON’T MIND because THEY LOVE YOU). If you give this a whole year and decide it’s not the life for you, then at least you know you’ve given it a full attempt. But if you come back to Florida before then, without throwing yourself into this situation completely (uncomfortable as it may be), I think you’ll always regret it because you’ll never know if it will have worked out given just a little more time.

    You are in a situation that people dream about. You have an opportunity to better your situation in life. You’re surrounded by friends and family, who want to help you (rather than being in a new place surrounded by strangers). You have a roof over your head and a paid off vehicle. AND, if this DOESN’T work out (because let’s face it, not everything is meant to), you have family and a JOB waiting for you in Florida. It won’t be the end of the world. It won’t even be the end of you. But don’t jump the gun and come back before you’ve really given it a chance. Things TAKE TIME (and a few weeks is not TIME, that’s just the blink of an eye in the whole scheme of things).

    I feel like I’m starting to ramble. I’ve lost sight of what I was originally trying to say, specifically. To sum up: give it TIME, RELY on those around you, you CAN survive on minimum wage, you are in a GREAT situation, it’s all TEMPORARY.

    I love you!!
    Rachel

  3. You are absolutely right, Rachel. You are wise beyond your years, and having gotten a good night’s sleep, agree with you totally. Love you!

  4. [...] How to Live on $1500 a Month August 2010 3 comments 3 [...]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 148 other followers

