I am going to enjoy life after 50 if it kills me!

One Bite At a Time

Yesterday I started my new position back in my old school district.  I was feeling very overwhelmed at having made such an abrupt turn around in New York, driving for three days and jumping straight into a new job all within five days.

My first day entailed sitting through a two hour lecture from someone I’d never heard of who talked about No Child Left Behind, Title I schools, and all the education “stuff” that goes along with testing.  His name is Mark Rowleski and he was actually quite interesting to listen to.  However, I could feel myself becoming more anxious with each passing minute as he spoke about annual yearly progress and test scores while I was realizing the enormity of setting up a classroom in a new school where I know almost no one, don’t have any idea how things are done, and have very little time.

Then he said something that literally slowed my breathing to a normal rate.

You can’t eat an elephant in one bite.

One bite at a time.  That’s how I’m going to make things work out.  One task accomplished, one problem solved, and keep moving forward.

(Can I make it an elephant size ice cream cake in my imagination?  Eating an elephant would be gross!)

Comments on: "One Bite At a Time" (2)

  1. How about an elephant cake! :-) Keep that elephant in mind as you not only work each day but to make plans for the year that comes after it! Keep thinking positively….. the more you do it the more of a habit it becomes! Love you!

  2. […] The busiest day of the year was August 18th with 55 views. The most popular post that day was One Bite At a Time. […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 148 other followers

