I am going to enjoy life after 50 if it kills me!

Renewing My Spirit

I have read several books on time management, money management, and every which kinda management, and most of them recommend taking Sunday, or at least one day of the week, to do things that nourish one’s soul.  It could be church, a hobby, time with family, meditation – depends on the slant of the book, I suppose.  Today, I spent the day driving and walking through Chestnut Ridge Park, a 1,200 acre park not far from where I now live.

the view from the top of the ridge

My daughter Kay and I just sat on a swing next to the toboggan runs for awhile taking it all in.  This nature – the tall trees, the rolling hills, the grassy fields – is so unlike what she was accustomed to growing up in Florida.  While she will miss the white sandy beaches and gulf breezes, I think she is marveling at the “green-ness” of it all.

I became so enthralled with the winding park roads hugging the edges of ravines, thick canopies of trees blocking the sunlight, that I forgot… just somehow forgot to take pictures of the woodsy side of the park.  I was too busy “being in the moment” and “living my authentic life” and all that jazz, to stop and photograph any of it.  So that will have to wait until our next trip to Chestnut Ridge.  Which I have a feeling will not be too far into the future.

So for today I didn’t worry, I didn’t over think anything.  I just looked, and listened, and breathed in the fresh summer air.

Amen.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

