I am going to enjoy life after 50 if it kills me!

Full Steam Ahead!

There is a great deal of truth to the old adage, “Idle hands are the devil’s workshop.”

Over the past few days I have done a great deal of worrying and convincing myself I will never find a job, I made a huge mistake in moving and trying something different, and I will fall apart here in short order if someone doesn’t rescue me.

I have not, however, done much in the way of solving my jobless situation.

Idle hands.  My fingers have been roaming the Internet fervently, finding mostly depressing reports of people out of work, crushing health insurance costs and the like.  But have I actually used my hands to fill out applications, steer my car towards businesses so I can introduce myself, maybe even make some phone calls?

NO.

Make no mistake.  This is hard work.  But my fear has made me idle.  I have been frozen to one spot with nothing operating at full speed except my imagination, which has developed some pretty icky scenarios involving destitution, depravity and general no goodness.  Not so much depravity, but you get the gist.

Fortunately, I have this amazing family.  My eldest child has been ridiculously logical with me, making me see things as they actually are  which is not nearly as bleak as I had let myself think.  My son has been my drill sergeant, not giving me much time to feel sorry for myself  because he has given me my job hunt marching orders.  My youngest has been supportive of whatever I want to do, with the caveat that she is not quitting and going home.  She plans to stick it out with or without me.

I can’t begin to tell you how wonderful my cousin and my sister-in-law have been.  They just keep introducing me to people and listing off idea after idea.  It’s hard to say I’ve tried everything and nothing is going to work when they just keep coming up with new ideas.

God bless them all.

So now I have logic, marching orders, a shining 18 year old example of optimism, and lots of good ideas.  Just having a direction and a full head of steam gives me confidence and hope.  My ship is moving forward yet again.

Wish me luck!

Comments on: "Full Steam Ahead!" (2)

  1. You CAN do this. Even if it means going back to Florida. You will survive. You will be okay. And you will ALWAYS have the family you just described rooting for you. Love you, Mom.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

