I am going to enjoy life after 50 if it kills me!

Not Having Fun Yet

I have been offline for the past few days.  Hard to blog and drive 70 mph on the Interstate at the same time, ya know?

This is a terrible picture of my brother Mike taken at the recent Corn Festival Parade.  Keep in mind my camera was broke by this time…

It took three days of driving by myself.  Somehow on Day 1 I lost my debit card.  No one has used it, so I still wonder if it’s not in some tiny dark crevice in my car which I can’t reach.  Anyway, I don’t use credit cards, so that and my cash were all I had.  Please say a thank you prayer to God for my most awesome brother Mike, who made sure I had a hotel room that night.

On Day 2 the traffic picked up and the rain commenced.  Not great, but I was making it.  Until the tire blew.  I got off on the shoulder and started to panic, but literally talked myself down.  Thank God and my dad for my AAA membership.  A savior in the form of a young red-headed man came in the rain and put my donut spare on my car. He and the sweet girl at the Western Union saved me and my sanity yesterday.   Of course, I needed to get a real tire to make it home.  Again, please say a thank you prayer to God for my most incredibly awesome brother Mike, who wired me cash and gave me directions to the nearest Walmart, where I was able to get a new tire put on.

That night I stayed at a Comfort Suites in a beautiful room.  Insert third thank you prayer here for my brother.  Are you getting the picture of just how much I love this boy?  He is my hero.

Day 3 got me back into Bradenton where I stopped immediately at my new school, got an inservice schedule for this week, and found out when and where I need to be for the first day back to work, which is tomorrow, by the way.

I have been going up and down the roller coaster this afternoon of tears and feelings of defeat to resignation that things didn’t work out like I planned, to almost (it’s the best I can do right now) enthusiasm for new opportunities and a chance to make it work next time.

My life is filled with blessings:  three kids who love me no matter what, a kind and gracious ex-husband who is giving me our daughter’s room until I get on my feet (maybe an ex, but always a dear friend), family up north who are still rooting for me, family here who are still rooting for me, friends who say just the right thing at the right time, and a job, which will not be taken for granted again.

So I will cry when I need to, and then I will move forward.  Onward.  And upward.

Comments on: "Not Having Fun Yet" (7)

  1. Gaye Parnell said:

    Bless your heart! I have lost cards myself. Can’t even imagine. Thanks to your brother, Rick, your dad, etc etc etc for helping you out — and thank goodness you arrived safely.

    It will all work out. It will. And, not too many people can say their ex is their friend. I know of only two couples besides you and Rick.

    Take good care, because you know that first few weeks will suck you dry!

    Muah!

  2. Debbie…YOU ROCK…it is during these times we learn how strong we are…hugs to you…I love you my soul sister!!
    Malinda

  3. oh yah…and I LOVE MIKE…He is awesome but I always knew that!!

  4. Life is not one long adventure. The reality is, it is lots of mini adventures. You must had one and you learned a lot about yourself, life, and what God can do for us. Even when it seems like we are walking a path with him, it can loop right back to where the path started! Welcome HOME!

  5. Yep, if you hadn’t left you wouldn’t have come back to a position, which at this point, seems better suited to you for many reasons!

    If you hadn’t left Kay wouldn’t have started on the journey she was meant to take!

    If you hadn’t left you wouldn’t have been able to spend wonderful time with your wonderful family up North! You especially know now that when Mike said he wouldn’t let you starve, he meant it AND can prevent it! He is all grown up now big sister!!

    If you hadn’t left you wouldn’t have learned that God doesn’t work in straight lines (thanks Rachael for that one), like we humans think we must!

    Love you!!

  6. Hey Deb, I haven’t checked emails in awhile and I am so behind. Back in Florida, what an adventure you have had but you know some times things work in strange ways. You will look back and see the whys and what fors later but you are so blessed and those are things to focus on when the going gets tough. We are always rooting for our Clark friends so you are not out there alone. We love you from afar. Congratulations on the job! BTW, where is Kay? NY or FL?

  7. […] Not Having Fun Yet August 2010 6 comments […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

