I am going to enjoy life after 50 if it kills me!

Life is… well, an adventure I suppose.

Or as someone pointed out to me, a series of adventures.

On my first official day back to work in Florida, I was offered a job back up in New York, which I just left because I couldn’t find a job.

What a moral dilemma, huh?  I could jump in the car and race back 1300 miles to where I just left!  I could do it.  So what if two very nice people worked their tails off to get me a position back here.  So what if my brother just bent over backwards to make sure I got safely back to Florida.  I got offered a job where I want to live!!

Now obviously, you know any person with any moral character at all would know you don’t just turn your back on people who’ve worked so hard for you.  But here’s what makes the decision to stay in Florida even easier.  The day care center that couldn’t afford to pay me $10 an hour to take care of a room full of infants can now pay me that $10 – to be the director of the entire day care facility.

Holy cow.  It’s a small place, but $10 an hour to be responsible for the safety and well-being of every little one there, and the employees?  And I still don’t think I’d have any insurance.  As much as I want to be in New York, and believe me, I want to be in New York, that’s just not okay.

So right now, I have a job that I am good at, with a good salary, medical benefits, and that’s all on top of the roof over my head, food in my stomach part.

And I guess I should feel good that I was offered the director’s job.

Comments on: "I’m Cheap, But Not That Cheap!" (4)

  1. Ummm you should feel very good. Just like I felt about the Wet Seal job. Sucks that I couldn’t take it, but I get to know she offered the job to ME and no one else! Feel good about that job because it meant they trusted you above every other applicant.

  2. I second Kay’s comment!! And I don’t think I could have said it any better!!

    Sometimes God gives us choices so we can feel good about choosing to close some doors ourselves………

    Love you Debor! Enjoy your second day back!!

  3. I can not wait to hear what your new adventure will bring you! This may be just what you need! It could be that simple, a change of scenery!

  4. […] I’m Cheap, But Not That Cheap! August 2010 3 comments 5 […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

