I am going to enjoy life after 50 if it kills me!

True story.

I woke up with a pretty serious migraine this morning.  After a couple doses of Imitrex, my head felt better but I was wiped out, so I closed my eyes and drifted off to sleep.

Then I felt someone licking my elbow.  I opened my eyes to see two big, brown, soulful basset hound eyes looking into mine.  Now, I don’t know anyone with a basset hound, nor does my ex-husband, in whose home I am staying for now.  (long story… I am staying in my daughter’s room).  Anyway, I reached over, petted the dog several times.  She never made a sound, just looked me over, turned, and walked back out of the room.

Turns out, my older daughter and my son-in-law went to the shelter today and brought home a basset hound.

All I know is an elbow lick from a basset is one of the loveliest ways I can think of to wake up.  I drifted back off to sleep with a smile on my face.

Comments on: "Much Better Than an Alarm Clock" (1)

  1. I have always said DOGS are the best medicine…so proud of Rachel…love and hugs…Malinda

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

