I am going to enjoy life after 50 if it kills me!

Florida Friday

Since I’ve chosen Fridays over the past two weeks to write my weekly “What I Love About Florida” post, I’ve decided to call them Florida Fridays.  I’m so dadgum clever, aren’t I?  I also think Friday, when I am in a great mood heading into a weekend, is the ideal time to sing the praises of my adopted state.

When searching for my topic this evening, I tried to think of things that people can do here that you just can’t do in, say, Nebraska, or Michigan, or New York.

While looking at royalty free photos, I came across this dolphin.  Ah….

One of the things I love about Florida is being able to have a lovely dinner at a restaurant and gaze out the window to watch dolphins jumping and playing in the bay.  Counting one, then two, then three or four of these amazing sea mammals swimming freely is a blessing.  You can’t do that just anywhere.

Some day I’ll tell you about the otters in the pond behind my apartment…

Comments on: "Florida Friday" (1)

  1. Unfortunatly for some of us, this is ruined! After 5 years of working at one of those lovely restaurants where the dolphins “go by” it has been ruined for me. Why, you ask? All the cranky customers who would ask, “What time do the dolphins go by?” LIke they keep a time schedule!!! Or, being shoved out of the way while looking for customers because the dolphins where out there-or even worse, the customer showing up after you have seated another and getting yelled at because of it! I do have to admit, one of the most amazing dolphin displays happened while working at this restaurant! A pod was charging a school of fish at beach level. It was a slow day so everyone got to stop and watch! Now that was amazing! Needless to say, we don’t go to the beach very often, so I don’t get a chance to mend and heal from my restaurant experience to love the site of dolphins again. Maybe, someday, I will!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

