I am going to enjoy life after 50 if it kills me!

Florida Friday – State Parks

It’s time for my weekly “Things I Love About Florida” post.  It only took me a minute or two to decide on the topic.

Florida has some of the most unique and beautiful state parks in the country.  Visitors can experience the joy of watching the slow-moving manatee basking in Florida’s warm waters, touring historic sites, or camping and canoeing in ancient woods or along sandy beaches.

I have spent several contented weekends in my tent cooking camp dinners, sitting around the camp fire, and canoeing with one or both of my girls.  Winter is the best time for camping for someone like me, who is not a fan of sweating.  Warm, sunny days followed by cold, crisp nights are perfect for me.  So far, I’ve stuck pretty close to home, but I am thinking of branching out this winter.  Perhaps Hillsborough River State Park.  I’d love to get up to the northern part of the state, too.  We shall see.

To learn more, click www.floridastateparks.org/.  Sorry, I can’t seem to get the link to work.  Rats…

Comments on: "Florida Friday – State Parks" (3)

  1. Blue Springs in Deland has one of the highest populations of manatees in Florida. My wife and I camped there a few years ago Beautiful!

  2. I’ll keep that in mind! I’m starting to make a list in my head of destinations. That sounds like a good winter trip!

  3. We will have to do Spring Break together! Not sure where yet, but we always head out for the week! Mike and I haven’t sat down to focus on our first fall trip, but that will be soon, since I’m sitting with the door open this morning and loving it!!!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

