I am going to enjoy life after 50 if it kills me!

A Day in the Life

It is so easy to get wrapped up in one’s own little world.  I know personally, I tend to close in on myself and think only of my circumstances and the goings on in my own little environment.

Friday night I crawled into bed early and watched TV until I fell asleep.  It was not much to write home about, let alone blog about.

Last night I spoke with my daughter, who is going to school up in New York.  She told me about her weekend camping trip with my relatives and their friends at Alleghany State Park.  She spent Friday evening traveling down to the park, stopping for subs on the way, getting in around 8 pm, then spending the evening with my sister-in-law, my brother, and a huge group of great people.  As she told me about her evening, I smiled, thinking of how much fun she must have had.

This morning I got to work to learn that a colleague of mine had lost her home to fire Friday night.  Fortunately, no one was hurt.  She, her husband and daughter got out, but the house will be gutted.  They have lost most everything.  They are temporarily living in a hotel in the area.  Their lives were turned upside down in the space of a few hours.  While my daughter played games in a warm cabin.  While I dozed off in my room, snug in bed.

There is an entire world filled with people’s ups and downs happening all the time, all around us.  It is important that we never forget that.

Comments on: "A Day in the Life" (3)

  1. I so love you for all your wise thinking…and yes, my friend…you are so right…someone always has it worse then we do…thanks for that reminder…hugs…M

  2. Wow! Thanks for posting this Debbie! Thank God that the family survived. Thank God for fun weekends with our families. And thank God for quiet moments, so we can rest and recharge.

  3. That is the reality of our lives, someone always has it worse while we sit and sleep, or camp, or enjoy time with our families. It always amazes me how blessed we are. Even in the face of this tragedy, that family is blessed to have one another, because it could always be worse. I thank God for the goodness of my life, my family, and my friends. Thanks for this moment Debbie!!!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

