I am going to enjoy life after 50 if it kills me!

Gifts From Loved Ones

Today has been a day of blessings.  Gifts.

My first gift of the day was the enthusiasm my students showed when we read about the Titanic.  I had 100% engagement for the half hour text and discussion in all three of my classes.  When I told them I’d get the laptop cart Friday and let them research about it, they cheered!  Don’t tell me low-income kids don’t want to learn.  Huh.

Then I got home and found a box tucked inside my screen door.  In it was a jewelry box with a pretty gold necklace in the shape of a heart.  The letter attached was from the Danbury Mint with a personal message from my father, wishing me a happy birthday.  On the back of the necklace is the inscription “My little girl yesterday, my friend today, my daughter forever”.  I will treasure this always.  My dad hit 80 and turned into mush.  I love you, Dad.

I then treated myself to a real dinner, steak, garlic mashed potatoes, and steamed green beans marinated in a little lime salad dressing.  I made enough for lunch tomorrow, so this gift to myself will continue to give!

The highlight of the day was my gift from my sweet old dog, Ava.  She offered me the opportunity to steam clean my hallway carpet.  I have been wanting to do it for a few weeks, but… well… I just couldn’t resist this evening.  My carpet looks fabulous, and I now plan to take Greenies off her list of approved snacks until I decide if that’s what caused her to decorate my carpet.  Thanks, Ava.  I owe ya one.

Comments on: "Gifts From Loved Ones" (4)

  1. That Grandpa…he’s quite the sweetheart. ❤ That's one of the sweetest things I've heard in a while.

  2. Dad’s a softie at heart, we knew that! As for Ava, you gotta love her. Some folks just can’t decide on the right gift, they go back and forth, change their minds. Not Ava. She just knew what would work for you. She’s special!! 🙂

  3. Still love your blog. It’s very real. Where are you teaching? Miss you!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

