I am going to enjoy life after 50 if it kills me!

My last day of school for this year was last Friday.  I spent the weekend like most others, nursing away a migraine and doing as little as possible.  In fact, I was out like a light by 8:30 Sunday evening, never getting to the part of the night where I take the dog out one more time, give both of us our meds, and put us both to bed.  I was out.

This morning I woke up at 5 a.m.  Miraculously, I felt truly refreshed and awake.  That never happens to me anymore.  Ava, the wonderdog, and I went for our walk, and then I walked a half mile in the quiet of the day.  It was lovely.

I had breakfast, did dishes, and blah, blah.  I got more done by 9 a.m. than I usually do in an entire day.  I even fit in a swim around 8 while it was still quiet and less hot.  Then I worked for a couple of hours at school cleaning up.

I had a lovely lunch, visited with my girls, then off for a pedicure.

I relaxed and read when I got home, folded some laundry, and went to Chipotle’s.

This may sound boring to you, but I realized this afternoon, this may be the pace of my life once I retire.  No rushing, no deadlines, a little social life, a little pampering, a little housekeeping.

I had fun practicing today.  And I want to practice a lot so I am a pro at it by the time my real retirement starts someday.

Comments on: "My “Practice” Retirement" (2)

  1. globaltossup said:

    Have fun “practicing”! I’m getting ready for the real thing…and think I’ll enjoy it, but it’s feeling different now that it’s almost here!

  2. Four teachers are retiring from my school this year. They couldn’t wipe the smiles off their faces! LOL

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

