I am going to enjoy life after 50 if it kills me!

Wet but Blessed

About 45 minutes ago, I started drafting a post about my life with chronic migraine.  It was sort of sad and whiny, but that’s the mood I’ve been in lately.  I was also in the mood for something sweet and finally talked my #3 child into driving me to Sweetberries, our local frozen custard place.  I LOVE that place, as my gut and butt will attest to.

With impeccable timing, we headed for the front door, keys in hand, at about the same time a rogue monsoon broke loose.  I began to doubt my need for dessert, but #3 insisted we carry on.  We made it to the car and I must say, I did a superb job of keeping the inside of my umbrella dry.  The rest of me, less than superb.

To make a long story slightly less tedious, we pulled over to let an ambulance pass and followed it up to the intersection.  The road was blocked, so we pulled into the grocery store.  There was already an ambulance, fire truck and police car there, and more showed up in the next few minutes.  I sprinted inside, saw an acquaintance of mine telling someone on the other end of the phone not to worry about her, and realized how blessed I am to be able to take my drippy self to the frozen foods section to pick up some ice cream on a Saturday night.

It can all so quickly change.  If you pray, I ask you to do so for those people in that accident and all others on the road this weekend.  My headache and I are tucked safely home.  I am blessed.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

