I am going to enjoy life after 50 if it kills me!

128 over 76

I went back to my doctor yesterday to see if my blood pressure had improved.  For some freakish reason, my normally lovely blood pressure spiked to 145 over 99 last time I was there.  The doctor was most unhappy and told me to stop using table salt, which I never use anyway, and put me on a diuretic with a deadline of one month to get my pressure down.

He also warned me that he would take me off my Imitrex if my blood pressure didn’t improve.  I left in a panic, wondering how I would function without it.  After I decided panicking was not good for my blood pressure, I relaxed a little.  Without really doing anything differently than eating out less and getting up more in the middle of the night to use the bathroom – damn diuretic – I waited for my appointment to roll around again.

Yesterday was my moment of truth.  Blood pressure – a fairly decent 128 over 76, and get this!  I lost ten pounds since my visit in mid-August.  I’m not sure where I put it, but it’s the first time in my life I’ve just misplaced ten pounds without any idea how it happened.

And I get to keep my Imitrex and function normally in society.  Sweet.

Comments on: "128 over 76" (1)

  1. I went to a Doc, he said I had bad cholesterol, put me on statins. Statins didn’t work out. But the next time I was checked, cholesterol was reasonably normal.He asked how I did it. I just quit eating french fries. That was it. Since I’ve stopped eating out, I feel better, blood pressure better, blood tests are better, and my wallet is happier. Must be something in the food. Glad to hear you BP is normal.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

