I am going to enjoy life after 50 if it kills me!

I have been one busy woman.

Like most people these days, it seems, my days seem to start fast and pick up speed until I tumble into bed 16 or 17 hours later, exhausted.  I spend my days trying to cram in 20 hours worth of work, errands and chores into 15 hours – which is frustrating and impossible.

Between my regular job and the two and a half hours at the after school program four days a week I have little time to think about much more than getting through the day, and my weekends are often spent recuperating from the week while nursing a weekend migraine.  I spend a lot of time in bed from Friday evening until Monday morning.

I caught a little break on this glorious Friday.  We had an inservice day, which is still work, but I get to spend the entire day focusing on one thing at a time, and pleasing one person at a time, which is like a vacation on a tropical island compared with a normal teaching day.  So I left work this afternoon with actual energy!  I went to Pier One and found an awesome pair of chair cushions for my wicker chairs on sale!  That got me to thinking about all I could do with paint for the living room walls, accessories and throw pillows, which led me to look at curtain panels, which got me thinking about decorating for the fall holidays, which got me in the car and headed to Michaels, where I bought a grapevine wreath, silk flowers and ribbon!

I am almost giddy at the thought of doing something fun around my home this weekend!  Looking forward is the ultimate energy drink and antidepressant, rolled into one.  Weekend, here I come!

Comments on: "Looking Forward to Looking Forward" (3)

  1. That’s why i have to stay out of Hardware stores. Have a great weekend

  2. My wife works at Michaels. She came home last night with bags of stuff. That means I get to take a trip to the Electronics store…..Yay

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

