I am going to enjoy life after 50 if it kills me!

Find Joy in the Life You Have

I have learned some valuable lessons over the past few weeks.

Life can end at any moment.  A beloved teacher aide at my school named Rose died of cancer a few weeks ago.  She was only 56 and had so much more to give.  She was one of those people that no one disliked – not even a little.  She lived her life in such a way as to make every day count for good.

A neighbor was found dead by my ex-husband and me when his house alarm went off.  We still aren’t sure why it went off, but he had not just died.  He was a loner who kept to himself and was not close to anyone, even his family.

Tuesday, I took a personal day from work.  I spent it with out of town family doing things I never take the time to do.  We hiked at our beautiful local preserve.  We wandered through our local historical village and I sat in a rocking chair on the porch of an old “cracker” house talking with my daughter and cousin while we took turns rocking and bouncing my grandson.  What a lovely way to spend the day.  I was more content in that moment than I had been for a long time.

I do not know if I’ll live to be a hundred or die tomorrow.  Right now I am facing major pay cuts at my school.  My beloved dog Ava died last week, so I am once again alone.  And the paperwork and housework pile up. But what a waste to spend that time being angry, or worried, or lonely.  I want more days filled with laughter and serenity and outright joy.  I am the only one who can make them so.

Comments on: "Find Joy in the Life You Have" (2)

  1. Chris Garren said:

    Another good one Deb. Thanks for listening to Karyn yeasterday. You always know the right thing to say. She’s finally happy.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

