I am going to enjoy life after 50 if it kills me!

Wisdom and Simple Math

One of the advantages of getting older is that hopefully we gain a little wisdom.  Mine is sometimes slow in coming, and arrives in fits and spurts, but I’m grateful for it.

This is the beginning of my school district’s spring break, so I have an entire week to do as I please.  This morning that meant lunch out with my daughters followed by manis and pedis for my youngest and me.

Not quite ready to be done having a “me” day, I dragged child #3 to our local gift store to peruse their selection of Troll beads.  At Christmas, I bought a lovely wood Pandora bead for my niece.  For those of you not in the know, Troll and Pandora make exquisite glass and silver beads meant to create bracelets.  I was hooked.

Did I mention my birthday is coming up?  Well, it is.  So dragging my daughter with me was not complete happenstance, if ya know what I mean.  I brought brochures from both companies home this afternoon and pored over them.  Then I took a nap.  After all, it’s “me” day, right?

Then.  I picked up one of the brochures again and counted the number of beads it took to make a nice, full bracelet.  Around twenty, I estimated.  Hmm… common cost of one bead is $50 or more.  Uh huh.  Doing the math… HOLY TROLLY GRAND, BATMAN! That’s one Pandora’s box I shouldn’t open!!  Don’t get me wrong – If I had a sizeable amount of disposable income, I’d be all over it, but…

See, look how much wisdom I gained in the space of one afternoon.

Comments on: "Wisdom and Simple Math" (2)

  1. I haven’t spent a dime, honest!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

