I am going to enjoy life after 50 if it kills me!

This will be a short post as I’m basically waiting for my clothes to dry so I can get dressed and go to work.  Ya gotta do whatcha gotta do, ya know?

 

My day is starting off quite nicely, thanks to my smartphone and facebook.  You see, it’s my 53rd birthday today.  As I live alone, there is no one wishing me a happy birthday as I awaken in the morning.

Or so I thought.  Silly me.  At 5 am, when I woke up (I hate it when I do that), I discovered a text message on my phone-slash-alarm clock from my youngest, wishing me a great day.   After fifteen minutes or so when it became clear I wasn’t going to go to sleep, I checked my facebook.  There was a birthday message from my son, who wanted me to know that since he was the first to wish me a happy birthday, he won the best child award for the year.  Apparently he edged out his sister by two minutes.  Big sister got a pass since she has an infant to deal with.

At six another text message arrived from my cousin, wishing me a happy birthday.  More birthday wishes from friends have been appearing on my facebook page.  And it’s only 7 am now.  I know some people find facebook an impersonal way to communicate such things, but I think it’s lovely.  And way more personal than a greeting card with a greeting card writer’s sentiments in it.

One of the nicest wishes came from my old friend Chuck in Japan last night.  Of course, it was already my birthday there!  I’m all about social media!

Comments on: "Social Media and My Birthday" (1)

  1. Happy Belated Birthday. I hope the day was all you wanted it to be.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

