I am going to enjoy life after 50 if it kills me!

I believe my last post was August of 2012.  So I’ve only been gone… what?  Seven months?  That’s not long in the blogosphere, right?  Well, in school years, that’s been ALL of it so far.

Long story short, I have a very challenging class, thrown together weeks after school started when one of our fifth grade classes was cut.  The original group gelled very well, but the poor kids who got split up and thrown into my class never got a chance to feel like they belonged.  It also put together students who had been purposely separated  before school began because of problems between them.

That, along with an ailing principal and lack of direction made things very difficult.  Our extremely poor test performance last spring meant we had people from the district coming in and lots of people wandered in and out of our rooms.  I came to dread going to work each day.

But now it’s almost April, we have a new principal who has new ideas, and we have eleven weeks of school remaining.  By no means is my life easy, breezy, but I can see sunlight in the distance and actually smile more at school these days.  And once, again, I’m telling my students that I love them – ALL of them.

So, it’s time to begin moving onward and upward again.

Image

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

